I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2008 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 235

Introduced by:

J. T. Won Pat, Ed.D. Tina Rose Muña Barnes <u>Dr. David L.G. Shimizu</u> Frank F. Blas, Jr. Edward J.B. Calvo B. J.F. Cruz James V. Espaldon Mark Forbes Judith P. Guthertz, DPA Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio Ray Tenorio

Relative to commending and congratulating the members of the forty-seventh (47th) University of Guam Student Government Association as they assume office for the 2008 to 2009 academic year and to thank the members and advisors of the 46th University of Guam Student Government Association for their service, commitment, and diligence during the 2007 to 2008 academic year.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I 2 MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

3 WHEREAS, the 2008 to 2009 academic year rings in a new era of 4 stewards tasked with ensuring that students have a voice in the fulfillment of 5 the mission of the University of Guam; and

WHEREAS, the members of the forty-seventh (47th) University of Guam
Student Government Association (UOG SGA) include: Benjamin Franklin
Aguon Leon Guerrero II, President; Remylynn M. Burlaza, Vice-President;
Jason G. Aradanas, Treasurer; Leilani P. Sablan, Secretary; Senators Faedene
Aldan, Zard Eli J. Apuya, Joaquin Diego, Paciano N. Gumataotao, Aubry Gale
M. Hocog, Angelica T. Mantanona, Lisa Maureen Meeks, Charles Santos,
Phoebe B. Tadeo, Darlene Mae Vigil and Kay Francis Yamashita; and

13 WHEREAS, as members of the forty-seventh (47th) UOG SGA, they will 14 carry forward the work of past student governments while ensuring that 15 opportunities for self-expression remain and the formation of new and 16 improved educational programs continues; and

WHEREAS, the forty-seventh (47th) UOG SGA, as stated in its preamble,
is set to practice the principles of democracy, provide services, coordinate
activities for UOG students, and encourage cultural unity among members of
the institution and the island-community; and

WHEREAS, the members of the forty-sixth (46th) UOG SGA include:
Benjamin F.A. Leon Guerrero II, President; Darlene Mae Vigil, Vice President;
Danny L. Harrell, Treasurer; Christina P. Martinez, Secretary; Jason G.

Aradanas, Interim Vice-President; Angelica Mantanona, Interim Treasurer;
 Leilani Sablan, Interim Secretary; and Senators Zard Eli J Apuya, Brian A.
 Biacan, Remylynn Burlaza, Joaquin Diego, Paciano N. Gumataotao, Artemio
 R. Hernandez, Aubry Gale Hocog, Angelica T. Mantanona, John Francis
 Saavedra, Sheena Sanders, Ann Catherine D. Villaluz, and Kay Francis
 Yamashita; and

WHEREAS, those advisors that provided guidance to the forty-sixth
(46th) UOG SGA include: Senior Advisor Dr. Richard Matheny, Division of
Social/Behavioral Sciences; Senior Advisor Dr. Ansito Walter, Division of
Public Administration; and Advisor Dr. Michael Griffin, Communications &
Fine Arts; and

12 WHEREAS, through their experience with the UOG SGA and the 13 education attained at the University of Guam, the SGA members of today are 14 destined to become tomorrow's leaders; now, therefore, be it

15 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na* 16 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the 17 people of Guam, commend and congratulate the members of the forty-seventh 18 (47th) University of Guam Student Government Association, and wish them 19 great success during the 2008 to 2009 academic year; and be it further

20 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na* 21 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the 22 people of Guam, thank all the members and advisors of the forty-sixth (46th) 23 University of Guam Student Government Association for their service,

3

commitment, and diligence during the 2007 to 2008 academic year; and be it
 further

3 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Executive Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption 4 5 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon Guerrero II, President, forty-sixth (46th) and forty-6 seventh (47th) University of Guam Student Government Association; to Dr. 7 8 Julie Ulloa-Heath, Dean of Enrollment Management and Student Services at 9 the University of Guam; to Dr. Robert A. Underwood, President, University of 10 Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 29TH DAY OF AUGUST 2008.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, ED. D. Speaker and Chairperson, Executive Committee

TIŇA ROŠE MUÑA BARNES Senator and Secretary of the Legislature